Our blogs Blogs home



Interim risk assessments in countries where there is no National Risk Assessment

The FSC Board of Directors has extended the phase-out date for company risk assessments for sourcing FSC Controlled Wood (CW) from 31 December 2014 to 31 December 2015.

At present, certified organizations may develop their own risk assessments for sourcing CW in areas where FSC National Risk Assessments (NRAs) have not been approved, following the requirements of the FSC ‘Controlled Wood – Chain of Custody’ (CW-CoC) standard FSC-STD-40-005 V2-1. The revised version of this standard will remove this option. Instead, Interim Risk Assessments (that follow the revised, strengthened requirements for risk assessment) will be allowed, but only until the end of 2017. After this, FSC risk assessments will be the only source of risk designations for sourcing CW.

These new risk assessments have to be done by companies in countries and regions where there are no approved National/Regional Risk assessments, and for un-specified risk areas in already approved National Risk Assessments. They have to be finalized by the end of 2015.

As the new requirements for Risk assessment means more work, all companies that need to do this, have to start this work as soon as possible.


Interim risk assessment according to second draft of the new FSC-STD-40-005 (ver 3.0) standard:

There are two different options:

  1. A FSC-accredited certification body confirms a ‘low risk’ designation via evaluation of Supply Units according to FSC-STD-30-010 Forest management requirements for Controlled Wood certification (Sections 4 to 10) at the discretion of The Organization.
  2. The Organization has conducted an Interim Risk Assessment and has implemented requirements according to the concluded risk designation. This option shall not be applied after 31 December 2017.

Short summary of Option 2, Interim Risk Assessment:

The risk assessment shall be done according to FSC-PRO-60-002a:
– sources of information
– stakeholder consultation
– minimum qualifications of experts or expert groups involved in risk assessment processes and/or Control Measures development (different qualifications for different CW categories)

Organizations sourcing from the same unassessed risk area are allowed to perform joined Interim Risk Assessment for this area.

Interim Risk Assessments may be outsourced to external bodies that have the required expertise in relation to the assessed categories.